Christy Toye drives St Michael’s to first win of 2017 at Naomh Conaill’s expense


ST MICHAEL’S HELD Naomh Conaill scoreless in the second half to post their first win of the new All-County Football League Division 1 season with Christy Toye impressing.

St Michael’s 1-11 Naomh Conaill 0-7

The Dunfanaghy side used their local knowledge well at the Bridge and went in level at the break, 1-4 to 0-7, having played against the wind in the first period.

Photo caption: The St Michael’s team who defeated Naomh Conaill in the All-County Football League Division 1 today. Photo: Moses Alcorn

At one stage, the visitors were in a decent position at 0-5 to o-1 in front with John O’Malley scoring four times in that opening period.

However, a goal from Andrew Kelly on 19 minutes leveled the scores at 1-2 to 0-5. Liam Paul Ferry, the St Michael’s full-back, was instrumental in the move having taken a short kick-out from Mark Anthony McGinley before making his way forward.

Ferry exchanged passes with several players before locating Odhran McFadden, who set up Kelly to score what proved to be the only goal of the game.

Naomh Conaill 2017

Naomh Conaill

Points from Christy Toye and Colm McFadden meant the hosts were on terms at the interval.

Toye’s influence would grow in the second half as St Michael’s raced ahead. He would go onto score five points from play, while McFadden and Martin McElhinney were also on the mark.

Naomh Conaill found the going tough facing the wind and having seen their fixture against Gaoth Dobhair postponed last weekend, will look to get off the mark against Milford in two weeks’ time.

St Michael’s: Mark Anthony McGinley; Michael Gallagher, Liam Paul Ferry, Ruairi Friel; Michael Cannon, Ciaran Gallagher, Oisin Langan; Martin McElhinney (0-1), Ciaran Kelly; Chris McElhinney, Christy Toye (0-5), Andrew Kelly (1-2, 1f); Colm McFadden (0-3, 3f), Brian McLaughlin, Odhran McFadden. Subs: Caolan Toye for C McElhinney (50), Hugh O’Donnell and Stephen Coyle for McLaughlin and Langan (60).

Naomh Conaill: Stephen McGrath; Hugh Gallagher, Jason Campbell, Stephen Molloy; Kevin McGettigan, Aaron Thompson, Ultan Doherty; Johnny McLoone (0-1), Ciaran Thompson; Logan Quinn, Dermot Molloy (0-1), John O’Malley (0-4, 3f); Brendan McDyer (0-1), Leon Thompson, Eunan Doherty. Subs: JD Boyle for Gallagher (half-time), Jeaic McKelvey for McGettigan (46), Cathal Ellis for U Doherty (47), Charles McGuinness for L Thompson (60).

Referee: Robbie O’Donnell (Naomh Muire)

For over two decades, has been regarded as the voice of sport in Donegal. Charlie is the former Head of Sport at Highland Radio – a role he fulfilled for 23 years. He is a former Managing Director at Highland Radio. Produced the Talking Sport Podcast upon leaving Highland Radio before helping to form Donegal Sport Hub in 2015.

Comments are closed.