Second-half onslaught gives LyIT big win over NWRC


Letterkenny Institute of Technology breezed past NWRC with a second-half onslaught this afternoon. 

Letterkenny Institute of Technology 6 North West Regional College 1

Pictures by Joe Boland, North West News Pix

Liam Walsh and Adam Duffy netted a brace each with Sean McBride and Gareth Doherty also on the mark.

The win, sealed with four second-half strikes, means LyIT finish third in the table and advance to the quarter-finals early in the new year.

LyIT led after just ten minutes as Walsh, having intercepted a loose pass inside by Jason Goldie, worked his way into space and drilled home from 20 yards.

The hosts thought they’d doubled their lead when McBride looked set to steer in at the far post, but Goldie intervened with a superb goal-line block.

McBride turned provider for Liam Doherty, who applied the finish only for referee Vincent McLoughlin to blow for offside.

NWRC drew level as Kirkpatrick seized on an error by Gareth Doherty and a wonderful strike gave Jamie Bell no chance.

McBride, just moments after being denied by Corey McVickery, latched onto a Duffy flick-on. This time, McBride took a super first touch and, with his next, found the bottom corner.

Late in the first half, Gareth Doherty surged down the right only to be thwarted by McVickery.

LyIT made the win safe 11 minutes into the second half as Walsh turned home from Liam Doherty’s low cross.

NWRC were dealt a further blow when McVickery was forced off injured just after the hour.

On 77 minutes, Duffy sweetly spun and tucked low past stand-in goalkeeper Greg McGovern.

Gareth Doherty’s delicious chip twisted the knife even further and Duffy’s second of the day completed the rout.

Letterkenny Institute of Technology: Jamie Bell, Gareth Doherty, Pat Loughrey, Keelin McGill, Ciaran Kelly (Rian Aikpitanyi 79), Connor Gormley, Liam Doherty (Liam Grant 80), Stephen Doherty, Adam Duffy, Liam Walsh, Sean McBride.

North West Regional College: Corey McVickery (Greg McGovern 62), Jason Goldie, Zak Tosh, Jordan Pollock, Jake Francis, Dylan Moore, Andy Whiteside, Seamus Quinn, Caleb Wan (Caolan Brennan 58), Eamonn McLaughlin, Harry Kirkpatrick.

Referee: Vincent McLoughlin.

Sports writer from St Johnston, now based in Letterkenny, with ten years' experience covering sport in Donegal. Was a nominee for NUJ Sports Journalist of the Year in 2010. Honoured by the Donegal Boxing Board in 2016 for his coverage on the sport.

Comments are closed.