Preparations revving up for 2017 Shandon Spa & Hotel Harvest Stages Rally


The closing date for entries for the 2017 Shandon Spa & Hotel Harvest Stages Rally is this Friday, September 22, two weeks out from the event.

This year’s Harvest Stages Rally is based in Marble Hill, Dunfanaghy with rally HQ set to be the scenic Shandon Spa and Hotel.

Picture caption: Declan and Brian Boyle, winners of the 2016 Harvest Stages Rally.

“We have a really top class event here in the Dunfanaghy area. It takes place on Saturday 7th October,” said Clerk of the Course Tony Boyle.

“It has been a few years since the Harvest has visited this region, but and you can expect top class stages.” Tony then explained an outline of the format of the event.

“We are covering three stages three times, nine stages in total. Each of the special stages will provide a good mix of competitive stage miles to road miles. You will not be disappointed, and expect a few surprises!

“We have a main entry fee of €795, including insurance levy, while the junior class will have an entry fee of €495 (including insurance levy), with the juniors covering six of the stages. Get your entry in now!

“Entries are expected to be at a premium and I would encourage everyone to get in early, in preparation for the event which is now three weeks away, and the closing date is fast approaching on Friday 22nd September 2017.”

Shandon Spa & Hotel Harvest Stages Rally will also be Round 6 of the 2017 Sligo Pallets Border Championship, Donegal Motor Club’s own Donegal Commercials Club Championship.

Regulations, Entry forms and up to date information is now available on the Donegal Motor Club website, .

Contact regarding the event should be made by E- mail to:, and also on the event Facebook at:

Accommodation inquiries should be directed to the Shandon Hotel, Dunfanaghy, Co Donegal. Telephone: +353 (074) 91 36137. Email: Website:

Sports writer from St Johnston, now based in Letterkenny, with ten years' experience covering sport in Donegal. Was a nominee for NUJ Sports Journalist of the Year in 2010. Honoured by the Donegal Boxing Board in 2016 for his coverage on the sport.

Comments are closed.