Dermot Molloy on fire Naomh Conaill continue good form with win over Glenswilly


DERMOT MOLLOY SCORED 2-5 as Naomh Conaill continued their decent run of recent form with a home win over Glenswilly this afternoon.

Naomh Conaill 2-15 Glenswilly 0-14

The Glenties side had posted victories over St Eunan’s, Gaoth Dobhair and St Michael’s of late and today were comfortable against county champions Glenswilly, who were without Michael Murphy six days out from the Round 4A qualifier for Donegal against Galway.

Martin Regan’s team, who lined out without Ciaran Thompson, were 1-3 to 0-0 up inside of six minutes with Molloy the goalscorer and both teams were saved by the crossbar with Brendan McDyer unfortunate for the hosts, while Cathal Gallagher was similarly out of luck for Glenswilly.

Late points in the half from Brian Farrelly, Leon Kelly and Joe Gibbons meant Glenswilly still trailed by six, 1-8 to 0-5, with Naomh Conaill’s points coming from an array of sources.

Kealan McFadden popped over a couple of frees early in the second half, although Naomh Conaill kept their lead intact with Molloy and substitute Logan Quinn were on the mark.

Ten minutes from time, Molloy grabbed his second goal and Naomh Conaill were nine points to the good.┬áCormac Callaghan, Gary McFadden and Keelan McFadden’s brace did bring it back to five.

At the other end though, Seamus Corcoran and Molloy’s late scores confirmed the points for Naomh Conaill.

Naomh Conaill: Stephen Campbell; AJ Gallagher, Jason Campbell (0-1), Stephen Molloy; Eunan Doherty (0-1), Kevin McGettigan, Ultan Doherty (0-1); Kieran Gallagher, Anthony Thompson (0-1), Brendan McDyer (0-3), Dermot Molloy (2-5,1f), Marty Boyle; Logan Quinn (0-1), Paul McGuinness, Seamus Ellis. Subs: Seamus Corcoran (0-1) for AJ Gallagher (30+1), Paul McGuinness JD Boyle for (half-time).

Glenswilly: Phillip O’Donnell; Conor Boyce, Eamon Ward, Ruairi Crawford, Ciaran Gibbons, Ryan Hunter, Joe Gibbons (0-1); Caolan Kelly (0-2), Leon Kelly (0-2); Oisin Crawford, Cathal Gallagher (0-1,1f), Brian Farrelly (0-1); Gary McFadden (0-1), Christopher McMonagle, Keelan McFadden (0-5,3f). Subs: Cormac Callaghan (0-1) for C McMonagle (ht), Caomhin Marley for C Gibbons (49), Paddy McFadden for C Boyce (52), Mark McAteer for R Hunter (52).

Referee: Jimmy White (Killybegs).

MA in Journalism graduate from NUI Galway and BBS Marketing and NC in Online Marketing from LyIT, who has worked covering sport in Donegal since 2004. Part of Donegal Democrat who won McNamee awards in 2013 and 2015 for 'best provincial publication'. Reseacher for 'Jimmy's Winnin' Matches' documentary and Rory Kavanagh's autobiography 'Winning'

Comments are closed.