McDaid seals derby win for Lagan at Bonagee in Donegal Youth League


Matthew McDaid’s superb finish gave Lagan Harps a fine away win at Bonagee United in the Donegal Youth League this evening.

Bonagee United 1 Lagan Harps 2

McDaid fired Lagan back in front with what proved to be the winner midway through the second half after a scorching Jack Murphy free kick had cancelled out Noel Donnelly’s opener.

Lagan took the win when a cracking first-time effort by McDaid flew beyond Cian Harkin after an incisive ball across the box from Donnelly provided the opportunity.

Lagan had gone in front when, in the 15th minute, Donnelly drilled home from the edge of the penalty area.

And it was somewhat against the run of play.

Odhrán Donnelly tried his luck from distance but failed to trouble the Lagan ‘keeper, Oisin Bonner.

Deji Bashir saw his shot spilled by Bonner, who got back to gather at the second attempt, while Bonagee’s lively terrier Aaron Wasson riffled wide from distance.

Bonagee United

Lagan had showed their threat when Ciaran Quinn dispossessed Murphy and the chance fell to Dean Murray, whose shot was dealt with by Harkin.

Bonagee drew level on 36 minutes when Murphy wonderfully found the net with a free kick. Standing over the ball 25 yards from goal, Murphy had only one thing on his mind and his left-footed strike gave Bonner, diving at full stretch, no chance.

Moments earlier, Donnelly was denied by a strong-handed save by Harkin. Lagan’s Bradley Doherty tried his luck, but snapped wide with the last action of the opening period.

Murphy invited Jordan Rodgers with a probing lofted pass into the area, but Rodgers’ header was too close to Bonner.

After Murray was thwarted by Bonner, Lagan hit the front when McDaid cracked home.

Try as they might, Bonagee couldn’t claw back the deficit a second time.

Bonagee United: Cian Harkin; Liam McAlary, Sean Crossan, Taylor Cassidy; Jason Murphy, Jack Murphy, Peter Carr, Jordan Rodgers, Odhran Donnelly; Deji Bashir, Aaron Wasson. Subs: Adam Hannaway for McAlary, Brandon Brown for Bashir, Darragh Kirk for Jason Murphy.

Lagan Harps: Oisin Bonner; Seamus Cullen, Oran Downey, Eoin O’Connor, Joshua Hay; Bradley Doherty, Ciaran Quinn, Darragh Rodgers, Matthew McDaid; Noel Donnelly, Dean Murray. Subs: Philip Gallagher for Quinn, Seimi Breslin for Donnelly, James McLaughlin for McDaid.

Referee: Liam McLaughlin.

Sports writer from St Johnston, now based in Letterkenny, with ten years' experience covering sport in Donegal. Was a nominee for NUJ Sports Journalist of the Year in 2010. Honoured by the Donegal Boxing Board in 2016 for his coverage on the sport.

Comments are closed.