Loreto Milford suffer defeat to St Joseph’s Coalisland in McDevitt Cup final


Loreto Milford fell to defeat in the Danske Bank McDevitt Cup final on Tuesday as Tyrone’s St Joseph’s Coalisland ran out with a 4-10 to 4-09 victory in blustery conditions. 

It is the second time that the East Tyrone outfit has lifted the trophy in the last 20 years – following their first success under the Vocational Schools’ banner in 1998.

Milford’ Callum Cullen had a superb showing, scoring all four goals for Milford and he added a much-needed point for good measure. The full-forward had good support from Anthony Curran, Sean Coffey, and midfielder Eoghan Quinn, but really their slow opening half an hour cost them the game.

By half-time, St Joseph’s led by 2-3 to 1-4 after a difficult first half as they started the final facing into the tricky breeze.

The Tyrone outfit’s battle with the strong wind was helped by a slick goal from a penalty after just ten minutes.

Coney found the bottom corner and after 18 minutes the same player neatly flicked home a second goal after 18 minutes following a length of the pitch move from his team.

Cullen and Milford had managed to close the deficit between Coalisland’s rout, but the Donegal side faced an uphill struggle; having played with the aid of the breeze they were still behind by two points at the break.

In the second half, Coalisland got off to the best possible start with the wind in their favor this time. Shea Hamilton adding another goal two minutes into the second period. However, Loreto were soon back in touch with Cullen’s second goal closing the gap to 3-5 to 2-7 in the 44th minute.

In the end, it was a race to the finish line and Coalisland just edged it. With Rónán Coney extending St Joseph’s lead to seven points, Cullen’s last two goals didn’t come quick enough – Milford losing by one point.

St Joseph’s: D McAteer, C Kernaghan, S Hughes capt., M Donnelly, G Cushnahan, M Duffin, B Hampsey, C Talbot, F O’Neill, R Donnelly (0-2), R Quinn (0-1), L Corr (0-1), R Nelis (0-2), S Hamilton (1-2), R Coney (3-1)

Subs: J Morgan (0-1) for F O’Neill (HT), D Woodhead for G Cushnahan (46)

Loreto Milford: T Cannon, C Gallagher, A Curran, J O’Neill, O Scanlon, C McMenamin, F Coll, E Quinn, P McDaid, S Coffey, R McGrenra, E McKeown, K Mallon, C Cullenn, E Scott.

Subs: J Ryan for Scabnlon (HT), D Mac Roidi for C Gallagher (45), P Fagan for K Mallon (56)

Multimedia Sports Reporter from Derry currently repenting for my sins in Letterkenny. Recent journalism graduate. NUJ member.

Comments are closed.