Martin McHugh off to a winner as Kilcar spoil Bundoran’s top-flight return


PATRICK MCBREARTY STRUCK a goal and eight points as Kilcar opened their Division 1 campaign with an emphatic win over newcomers Bundoran at Gaelic Park.

Bundoran 2-12 Kilcar 4-17

The home side, under the management now of Willie Gormley, contributed hugely to the fair on show but in the end Martin McHugh’s side had too much firepower.

Brian McCormick Sports teamwear

In a whirlwind start, both side had struck goals in the first quarter with Christy Keaney on the mark for the hosts in the sixth minute before Ryan McHugh replied for Kilcar just six minutes later.

At that stage, the score was 1-5 to 1-1 for Kilcar and McBrearty was already finding his groove – the county forward would score five first half points.

Points from Gary Claney and then Michael McEniff gave Bundoran hope before a second Kilcar goal on 17 minutes from Mark Sweeney made the score 2-5 to 1-3.

Brownes Ad

Stephen McBrearty and Ciaran McGinley got in on the act towards the end of the first half, while Tommy Hourihane and Pauric Rooney brought some cheer to the home support.

Aura ad 2

At half-time, Kilcar were 2-10 to 1-6 in front.

Hourihane opened the scoring in the second half before Kilcar again struck back, with Aodhan McGinley scoring two points before Patrick McBrearty’s goal on 43 minutes made for a 3-13 to 1-7 advantage for the Towney-based team.

Twelve minutes from time, Stephen McBrearty scored Kilcar’s fourth goal. Bundoran did get some consolation when Hourihan scored a penalty at the bitter end. to bring his haul for the day to 1-5.


Bundoran: Ciaran Carty; Diarmuid McCaughey, James Keaney, Pauric Rooney (0-1); Barry McGowan, Shane McGowan, Adam Brennan; Peter McGonigle, Niall Dunne; Gary Clancy (0-2), Michael McEniff (0-1), Shane Carr; Darragh Hoey (0-1), Christy Keaney (1-1), Tommy Hourihane (1-5, 3f, 1-0 pen). Subs: Adam Brennan for Rooney (23), Paul Delaney for B McGowan (47).

Kilcar: Eamonn McGinley; Barry Shovlin, Conor McShane, Pauric Carr; Ryan McHugh (1-0), Stephen McBrearty (1-2), Andrew McClean (0-1); Michael Hegarty (0-2), Ciaran McGinley (0-1); Eoin McHugh, Mark McHugh, Mark Sweeney (1-1); Aodhan McGinley (0-2), Patrick McBrearty (1-8, 5f), Conor Doherty. Subs: Matthew McClean for Doherty, Stephen Shovlin for B Shovlin, Darragh O’Donnell for S McBrearty,  Cormac Cannon for R McHugh, Patrick Gallagher for Hegarty.

Referee: Jimmy White (Killybegs).



Comments are closed.