Kilcar continue their fine start to season with win over Naomh Conaill


KILCAR MADE IT five wins from six in the All-County Football League Division 1 with an impressive win over Naomh Conaill.

Kilcar 3-16 Naomh Conaill 0-7

The visitors were a little light ahead of a busy weekend hosting the Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta on home turf – where they play Dungloe in Sunday’s county semi-final – but that also can’t take away from Kilcar’s victory.

Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 45)

The home team in Towney, only really missing Eoin McHugh and possibly goalkeeper Eamonn McGinley from what might be their first choice XV, hit the ground running and by the 15th minute were four points to the good before hitting two goals in a minute.

Firstly Andrew McClean goaled and then 90 seconds later Matthew McClean slapped home a goal from close range.

Kilcar were 2-9 to 0-4 up at half-time with Dermot Molloy knocking over a couple of frees for Naomh Conaill at the other end, while John O’Malley was also on the mark.

Kilcar, who had nine scorers in all, saw Stephen McBrearty point twice in that first half. Aodhán McGinley, Ryan McHugh and Patrick McBrearty also scored points.

The home side continued with their forward momentum in the second half and on 37 minutes had a third goal in the bag when Patrick McBrearty scored from close range after his brother Stephen had hit the post.

Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 48)

Kilcar ended up winners by 18 points with Stephen Shovlin, Mark McHugh and Ciaran McGinley also scoring.

The win means that Kilcar top the table on points difference ahead of St Eunan’s with the Towney outfit having lost only once this season – that defeat having come in a starred fixture against Gaoth Dobhair.

Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 61)

Kilcar: Kevin Campbell; Pauric Carr, Conor McShane, Stephen Shovlin (0-1): Ryan McHugh (0-1), Andrew McClean (1-1), Mark McHugh (0-1); Ciaran McGinley (0-2); Stephen McBrearty (0-2), Cormac Cannon, Mark Sweeney (0-2); Matthew McClean (1-0), Patrick McBrearty (1-4, 1f), Aodhán McGinley (0-3, 1f). Subs: Conor Doherty for R McHugh (42), Darragh O’Donnell for P McBrearty (48), Pauric McShane for C McGinley (53)

Naomh Conaill: Stephen McGrath; Keving McGettigan, Logan Quinn, Aaron Thompson; Eoin Waide, Cathal Ellis, Eunan Doherty; Anthony Thompson, Charles McGuinness; Seamus Corcoran, Ethan O’Donnell (0-1), Dermot Molloy (0-2, 2f); John O’Malley (0-3, 2f), Leon Thompson (0-1), Paul McGuinness. Subs: Joe Kennedy for Molloy (33), Ultan Doherty for P McGuinness (40), Hughie Gallagher for C McGuinness (50).
Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 54)


Comments are closed.