Ryan McHugh stars as Kilcar begin defence with victory over Glenswilly


LAST YEAR’S DIVISION 1 winners Kilcar opened their defence of the trophy with a routine win over County Champions Glenswilly and Ryan McHugh was outstanding.

Kilcar 2-13 Glenswilly 0-10

With Barry Doherty having replaced Martin McHugh in Towney and Adrian Glackin now in the hotseat in Glenswilly, it was the home side who ran out nine-point victors.

McHugh scored seven points – five of which came from play – although his county captain Michael Murphy ended the day with the same amount.

All of Murphy’s scores came from placed balls but the standard of his kicking was excellent.

Cormac Cannon rounded off an excellent move for the first Kilcar goal on 16 minutes and then, in the second half, Eoin McHugh hammered home a second.

At the break it was Kilcar who led on a 1-9 to 0-4 scoreline with Cannon providing the perfect finish with a drilled effort past Philip O’Donnell in the Glenswilly goal on 11 minutes after a swift Kilcar move that saw the ball move through the hands and Ryan McHugh providing the final pass.

The hosts almost added another goal just four minutes later – again the move was impressive – but Ciaran McKinley mis-kicked in front of goal.

In the second half, Glenswilly were perhaps justified to be aggrieved when referee Jimmy White didn’t let play continue and Murphy put Caolan Kelly in to shot past Eamonn McKinley. However, the referee had called for a foul and play was pulled back.

On 35 minutes, with Kilcar 1-9 to 0-6 in front, Philip O’Donnell in the Glenswilly goal made a shot from Matthew McClean. But then, just five minutes later Eoin McHugh added a second Kilcar goal following another stock move, ramming the ball into the top corner.

Kilcar: Eamonn McGinley; Pauric Carr, Conor McShane, Paddy Gallagher; Cormac Cannon (1-0), Mark McHugh, Damiel Lyons (0-1); Ciaran McGinley (0-1), Eoin McHugh (1-3); Declan Gallagher, Ryan McHugh (0-7, 2f), Andrew McClean; Ashley Carr, Mark Sweeney (0-1), Matthew McClean. Subs Michael Hegarty for A Carr (25, black card), Pauric McShane for D Gallagher (50), Dermot McKinley for A McClean (54), Paddy McShane for Sweeney (57).

Glenswilly: Philip O’Donnell; Conor Boyce, Eamonn Ward, Paddy McFadden; Ciaran Hunter, Aidan McDevitt, Paddy Diver; Caolan Kelly, Leon Kelly; Oisin Crawford, Ciaran Bonner, Cathal Gallagher; Keelan McFadden, Michael Murphy, Caoimhin Marley. Subs: Christopher McMonagle for L Kelly (40), Patrick Boyle for Diver (51), Mark McAteer for Bonner (53, black card).

Referee: Jimmy White (Killybegs).


For over two decades, has been regarded as the voice of sport in Donegal. Charlie is the former Head of Sport at Highland Radio – a role he fulfilled for 23 years. He is a former Managing Director at Highland Radio. Produced the Talking Sport Podcast upon leaving Highland Radio before helping to form Donegal Sport Hub in 2015.

Comments are closed.