Donegal’s fixtures confirmed for 2019 Dr McKenna Cup


The schedule of fixtures for the 2019 Bank of Ireland Dr McKenna Cup has been confirmed by the Ulster Council.

Donegal, the holders, are in Section A alongside Cavan, Down and Queen’s University.

Donegal open up on Sunday, December 30 as they take on Queen’s at Sean MacCumhaill Park.

On Sunday, January 6, Donegal are in Newry to face Down, while their final Section A game is on Sunday, January 9, against Cavan at Sean MacCumhaill Park.



Bank of Ireland Dr McKenna Cup

All Sunday games at 2:00pm unless stated; All midweek games at 8:00pm.

Section A:   Dún na nGall, An Cabhán, An Dún, QUB

Section B:   Aontroim, Muineachán, Ard Mhacha, Colaiste Naomh Mhuire

Section C:   Doire, Fear Manach, Tír Eoghain, UU


15th Dec (Sat) – Round 1

Section C: Fear Manach V UU at Fermanagh Venue TBC (1.00pm)


16th Dec (Sun) – Round 1

Section B: Ard Mhacha V St Marys at Crossmaglen (1.00pm)


Section C: Doire V Tír Eoghain at Owenbeg (1.00pm)


30th Dec (Sun) – Round 1

Section A:

An Cabhán V An Dún at Cavan Venue TBC

Dún na nGall V QUB at Páirc Mac Cumhaill


Section B:

Muineachán V Aontroim at Clones


6th Jan (Sun) – Round 2

Section A:

An Dún V Dún na nGall at Páirc Esler

An Cabhán V QUB at Cavan Venue TBC


Section B:

Muineachán V St Mary’s at Clones

Aontroim V Ard Mhacha at Corrigan Park


Section C:

Fear Manach V Doire at Brewster Park

Tír Eoghain V UU at Healy Park


9th Jan (Wed) – Round 3

Section A:

Dún na nGall V An Cabhán at Páirc MacCumhaill

An Dún V QUB at Páirc Esler


Section B:

Ard Mhacha V Muineachán at Athletic Grounds

Aontroim V St Marys at Woodlands


Section C:

Doire V UU at Owenbeg

Tír Eoghain V Fear Manach at Healy Park


13th Jan (Sun) Semi Finals

Section A Winner V Section B Winner

Best Runner Up V Section C Winner


19th (Sat) / 20th (Sun) Final    


Sports writer from St Johnston, now based in Letterkenny, with ten years' experience covering sport in Donegal. Was a nominee for NUJ Sports Journalist of the Year in 2010. Honoured by the Donegal Boxing Board in 2016 for his coverage on the sport.

Comments are closed.