Donegal boxers to the fore ahead of 9 Counties finals tomorrow


There is no shortage of Donegal interest for the finals of the Boy/Girl 1, 2 and 3 9 Counties Championships tomorrow.

The finals will be held at Rochesters ABC in Derry and Donegal is well represented.

In the Boy 1 division, there will be nine Donegal punchers in the ring.

That includes one all-Donegal final with Raphoe’s John McDonagh and Twin Towns’ Conor Galvin meeting at 50kgs.

At 31kgs, Illies Golden Gloves’ Rory McDaid – who had a fine win over Dungannon’s Curtis Nelson last weekend – meets Caolan Murray from Silverbridge.

Josh Clarke from Carndonagh faces Spartans’ Scott Thompson in the 29kgs final.

Daniel McMenamin of the Twin Towns takes on Oakleaf’s Sean Devenney, a native of Ballybofey now boxing with the Derry club at 33kgs.

Matthew Carlin of Dunree – who overcame Churchlands’ Lee Hara in the semis and Tiernane Hale of Star in the preliminary round —  faces St Joseph’s Finn Duffy in the 35 kgs final. Duffy, for his part, defeated Thomas McMenamin of Twin Towns in his semi.

Dungloe’s Tiarnan McRuairi is up against Patrick Crawford of St Paul’s in the 41.5kgs final. Last weekend, McRuairi stopped Carrickmore’s Caolan McMahon in the opening round of their semi. Crawford had a win over Carndonagh’s Jack Doherty to get to tomorrow’s final.

In the Boy 2 finals, Keelin Collins (Dunree), Illies man Anthony Brosnan and Dungloe duo Daire Wallace and Ryan Diver are aiming for glory.

Collins meets Mourne’s Matthew Scott at 35kgs, Brosnan takes on Dovydas Zelepuuas (Virginia), at 44.5kgs, with Wallace facing Carlo Notarandonio (Clonard) in the 41.5kgs final, while Diver is against Omagh’s Jamie McPeake in the 46kgs decider.

Cathair Devenney, Sean’s older brother, is also in the Oakleaf colours and he is in with Edward McDonagh (Loughshore) in the Boy 2 52kgs final.

There is an all-Donegal bout, too, in the Boy 3 finals, as Sean O’Reilly from Ballyshannon takes on Dominic O’Donnell (Carndonagh).

Ballyshannon’s Brian McMahon faces Aaron Johnston (Virginia) in the 50kgs final, while Carrigart’s Daniel Aiken meets Liam Walsh (St Paul’s) at 56kgs.

Meanwhile, Dennis Gillespie (Illies, Boy 2 48kgs), Ryan McGonigle (Carndonagh, Boy 2 56kgs), Jason Lynch (Illies, Boy 3 31kgs), Brendan O’Hagan (Raphoe, Boy 3 41.5kgs), Emmett Harkin (St Bridget’s, Boy 3 48kgs), Lani Lafferty (Twin Towns, Girl 1 38.5kgs), Sarah Marie Duffy (Illies, Girl 1 40kgs), Bridget O’Neill (Dunree, Girl 2 40kgs), Amy Doherty (St Bridget’s, Girl 2 56kgs) and Brenda Collins (Dunree, Girl 3 40kgs) will take titles via walkover wins.

Sports writer from St Johnston, now based in Letterkenny, with ten years' experience covering sport in Donegal. Was a nominee for NUJ Sports Journalist of the Year in 2010. Honoured by the Donegal Boxing Board in 2016 for his coverage on the sport.

Comments are closed.