Donegal Under-16s chase Buncrana Cup success as dominant Monaghan stand in their way


Donegal face Monaghan tomorrow morning in Burt as the 2017 Buncrana Cup reaches its climax.

Gary Duffy’s Donegal and Monagan joust in one of the semi-finals at Hibernian Park with Tyrone and Cavan meeting in the other semi at Ture.

The final will take place at 3.30pm at The Scarvey.

Buncrana clubman Duffy is at the helm of a Donegal outfit that has defeated Armagh, Fermanagh and Derry to reach the finals day.

Since then, the Tir Chonaill boys have beaten Meath and lost to Roscommon in challenge games to prepare for tomorrow’s big clash against a four-in-a-row-chasing Monaghan side. The Farney have held the Buncrana Cup in each of the last three years so Donegal will aim to break their dominance this weekend in Inishowen.

In 2012, under Declan Bonner, and in 2013, when Sean Paul Barrett had the reigns, Donegal won the competition.

Duffy has injury concerns over Caolan Gallagher of Termon, Seamus Óg Byrne from Killybegs and Aodh Ruadh’s Eoin Duffy, but is hopeful of having close to a full panel from which to select his team.

Donegal Under-16 squad: Corey Byrne (Killybegs), Caolan Gallagher (Termon), Aaron Gilhooley (Sean MacCumhaills), Matthew Mulholland (Buncrana), Charlie Breslin (Killybegs), Seamus Óg Byrne (Killybegs), Leo Dunphy (Naomh Conaill), Shane Gillespie (Aodh Ruadh), Anthony Doherty (Carndonagh), Cian Gallen (Sean MacCumhaills), Shane O’Donnell (St Eunan’s), Padraig McGettigan (St Eunan’s), Josh Conlon (Malin), Jonathan Toye (Naomh Padraig), Joseph McGrenra (Buncrana), Eoin Doherty (Aodh Ruadh), Alex McGeehan (Sean MacCunhaills), Odhrán McGlynn (Glenfin), Darragh McMenamin (Red Hughs), Dylan Doogan (St Eunan’s), Ryan Hegarty (Buncrana), Oisin Kelly (Burt), Michael Coughlan (St Naul’s), Rory O’Donnell (Milford), Cathal Gillespie (Gaoth Dobhair), Cillian Gildea (Killybegs), Johnny McHugh (Ardara), Timmy Gorrell (Killybegs), Oran Winston (St Eunan’s), Conor Coll (Milford), Karl Gallagher (Killybegs).

Sports writer from St Johnston, now based in Letterkenny, with ten years' experience covering sport in Donegal. Was a nominee for NUJ Sports Journalist of the Year in 2010. Honoured by the Donegal Boxing Board in 2016 for his coverage on the sport.

Comments are closed.