Diarmuid Logue is crowned Portsalon Matchplay champion


Diarmuid Logue was crowned Portsalon Matchplay champion on Sunday afternoon after defeating Stuart Nicholl on the 18th hole.

The pair played their match in idyllic conditions and it was 18-handicapper Stuart that burst from the blocks to win the first two holes and establish a lead.

DP wasn’t going to panic however and when they reached the turn parity had been restored leaving everything to play for on the back nine.

The five-handicapper put his nose in front for the first time on the tenth, only to be hauled back on the 11th. Another win on par-three 12th put Tiny ahead and a vital success on the Matterhorn ensured he was two-up with four left to play.

Stuart stuck to his task and managed to get himself to the 18th tee needing a win to force extra holes but it wasn’t to be as DP got the victory on the final hole, atoning for his defeat in the 2012 decider as he did! Well played to both on reaching the final.


Wednesday 14th November – Gents Open

Winner: Chuck McTaggart – 37 pts BOT

Runner-up: Charlie McCahill – 37 pts BOT

Gross: John G McBride – 29 gross pts

Third: James Duffy – 37 pts BOT

CSS: 71 / 35 pts

Twos: Dan Curran, Mark Gilmurray, John G McBride, Colm McConigley, Chuck McTaggart, Paddy Sheridan, Cathal Toland

Sunday 18th November – Gents Members

Winner: Sean Barrett (15) – 39 pts

Runner-up: Jim Deeney (33) – 38 pts

Gross: Joe Coyle (5) – 32 gross pts

Third: Dermot Shields (11) – 36 pts

CSS: 71

Twos: Andy Boland, Joe Coyle, Shaun Gibbons, Eamon McConigley

Sunday 18th November – Ladies Sunday Members

Winner: Sarah Nicholl (16) – 36 pts

Runner-up: Rosie Spence (25) – 32 pts

CSS: 75 RO (Alternate: 16/11 RO)

Sports writer from St Johnston, now based in Letterkenny, with ten years' experience covering sport in Donegal. Was a nominee for NUJ Sports Journalist of the Year in 2010. Honoured by the Donegal Boxing Board in 2016 for his coverage on the sport.

Comments are closed.