Delight as Chloe and Sam Magee reach Irish Open final


Chloe and Sam Magee are into the mixed doubles final at the AIG FZ Forza Irish Open – and will play live on TG4 tomorrow.

The Raphoe sister and brother duo overcame England’s Michael Roe and Jessica Hopton 21-7 21-9 to book a spot in tomorrow’s decider, where they’ll meet another English pair, Harley Towler and Emily Westwood.

The Magees were in control of things all the way in the semi-final.

The Magees won the first game 21-7 after pulling away.

Having fallen 3-1 in arrears, the Magees were back level at 4-4 and never looked back, hitting seven points in a row to claim the first game comfortably.

And they had little trouble in the second, either, as they were behind only for the first point of the game, going on to win 21-9.

Tomorrow’s finals are being screened live by TG4.

Last year, the Magee siblings lost out to Gregory Mairs and Jenny Moore of England in the Irish Open final.

“It would be nice to win it,” Sam Magee said.

“Last year was as close as we got. Hopefully we can get the title.

“The Irish Open always has pressure. It’s the one time we get to play in front of family and we’ve never won it.”

Chloe Magee won an Irish Open women’s doubles crown with Huang Bing in 2007, but this would be an extra special one.

The three-time Olympian said: “It’s always nice to play in Ireland. The Irish Open is special, to play at home and to get some confidence.”

The Magees, who were bronze medalists at the 2017 European Championships and who are still hoping to qualify for the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo, are coached by another brother, Daniel.

Earlier today in the quarter-final, the Magees overcame Carl Christian Mork and Solvar Flaten Jorgensen 21-15 21-13

A win against Samy Corvee and Margot Lambert of France 21-8 21-13 in their opening game yesterday got them off to a winning start on the home court.

Sports writer from St Johnston, now based in Letterkenny, with ten years' experience covering sport in Donegal. Was a nominee for NUJ Sports Journalist of the Year in 2010. Honoured by the Donegal Boxing Board in 2016 for his coverage on the sport.

Comments are closed.