Declan Boyle on course to win third National Rally Championship


Lettermacaward driver Declan Boyle now needs just a top eight finish at the Donegal Harvest Rally next month to secure the Triton Showers National Rally Championship title.

Boyle finished fifth in the Clare Stages Rally at the weekend, but picked up key Championship points.

Boyle and James O’Reilly, in the Ford Fiesta WRC, have the title in sight.

Boyle has won the title twice previously.

The Clare rally was won by Monaghan’s Josh Moffett, also in a WRC Fiesta. 

Donegal’s Stuart Darcy was ninth in a Darrian.

Johnny Jordan and Paul McCrudden, in a Starlet, finished in the top ten in Clare. The Donegal duo were in tenth place.

The Bustards, Kenny and Trevor, won Group N, in a Lancer. 

Daniel Conaghan and Terence Magee were third in class 14, while Aodhan Gallagher had joy in class 12, navigating for Brian Armstrong.  

Sports writer from St Johnston, now based in Letterkenny, with ten years' experience covering sport in Donegal. Was a nominee for NUJ Sports Journalist of the Year in 2010. Honoured by the Donegal Boxing Board in 2016 for his coverage on the sport.

Comments are closed.