Kilcar hammer Glenswilly by 19 points in Towney

KILCAR SHOWED VISITORS Glenswilly no mercy whatsoever on Sunday with a ruthless 19-point hammering in Division 1.
Kilcar 3-19 Glenswilly 0-9
Over a completely dominant hour, Martin McHugh’s side had nine different scoring contributors with just two points of their 19 coming from placed balls.  As early as the opening quarter, this one had already ended as a contest with the hosts 2-4 to 0-1 in front.
Photo caption: Kilcar’s Patrick McBrearty in possession against Eamonn Ward of Glenswilly in the All-County Football League Division 1. Photo: Geraldine Diver
Just eight seconds in, after Ciaran McGinley had won the throw-up, Conor Doherty hammered in a Kilcar goal after possession had slickly moved through the lines via Ryan and Eoin McHugh. Paddy McBrearty (0-2,1f) and Andrew McClean, in absolute acres on the left, added points before Glenswilly finally got off the mark on 10 minutes through corner back Paddy McFadden.
Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 59)
Eoin McHugh made it 1-4 to 0-1 on 12 minutes. And when McBrearty rattled the Glen net for a second Kilcar goal soon after, nine points already separated the sides.
A direct effort in towards Michael Murphy wasn’t dealt with convincingly by Eamonn McGinley and the lurking Keelan McFadden stabbed over first time on the grounded ball to double Glenswilly’s total. Two minutes later McGinley more than made amends with a great stop to deny Cathal Gallagher in front of goal.
But such was Kilcar’s ease at that stage, McBrearty was even swinging his right peg as the Donegal sharpshooter made it 2-5 to 0-2. Dara O’Donnell and Gallagher traded overs but Stephen McBrearty and Eoin McHugh continued to twist the knife at the Glen end with decisive incisions and subsequent overs.
Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 53)
With Murphy moved inside, Gary McDaid’s team made some inroads as the Tir Chonaill skipper opened his account. However, Kilcar closed out the remainder of the half with 1-2 on the bounce. Stephen McBrearty and Eoin McHugh raised the white flags  while on the whistle, Patrick McBrearty rammed home a penalty after Gary McFadden had upended McGinley inside the area.
At half-time Kilcar were 3-11 to 0-4.
Stephen McBrearty and Murphy, from a free, added to their tallies inside the opening minutes of the new period before a brace from the impressive McGinley at midfield meant proceedings remained heavily weighed in Kilcar’s favour on a score of 3-14 to 0-6.
Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 81)
Glenswilly finally found a little momentum as the game drifted into the final quarter. Three frustrated drives from Murphy saw the player find the room and the angles to propel Glenswilly out to 0-9 for the evening. Though, in the last 10 minutes Kilcar – with their foots long since pressed  on Glen throats – finally got their snap.
Five uninterrupted points between then and the end were clinically supplied by Mark McHugh, McGinley, Conor Doherty, substitute Aodhan McGinley (free) and, finally, Paddy McBrearty.
With a huge SFC encounter with St. Michael’s looming for Kilcar, on this evidence they look like they’re in the mood to remain in the hunt for the Dr Maguire. For Glenswilly, unless they can get influential cogs like James Pat McDaid, Neil Gallagher, Caolan Kelly and Ciaran Bonner fit, their championship could well be ended by Dungloe when those two eventually clash.
Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 74)
Kilcar: Eamonn McGinley; Stephen Shovlin, Conor McShane, Pauric Carr; Barry Shovlin, Mark McHugh (0-1), Ryan McHugh; Ciaran McGinely (0-3), Stephen McBrearty (0-3); Conor Doherty (1-2), Eoin McHugh (0-3), Mark Sweeney; Andrew McClean (0-1), Patrick McBrearty (2-4, 1-0 pen, 1f), Dara O’Donnell (0-1). Subs: Cormac Cannon for R McHugh (half-time), Aodhan McGinley (0-1,1f) for E McHugh (47), Paddy Gallagher for Sweeney (49), Declan Gallagher for S McBrearty, Pauric McShane for Doherty, James Cunningham for A McClean (all 58).
Glenswilly: Phillip O’Donnell; Paddy McFadden (0-1), Eamonn Ward, Shaun Burke; Caoimhin Marley, Ciaran Gibbons, Aiden McDevitt; Joe Gibbons, Cathal Gallagher (0-1); Oisin Cannon, Gary McFadden, Christopher McMonagle; Darren McGinley (0-1), Michael Murphy (0-5,1f), Keelan McFadden (0-1). Subs: Cormac Callaghan for C Marley (ht), Ethan Sweeney for K McFadden (42), Lee Crerand  for Crawford and Conor Harkin for McMonagle (both 58).
Referee: Jimmy White (Killybegs).

Comments are closed.