St Michael’s become first visiting team to win in Kilcar in 2016 today


ST MICHAEL’S CAME AWAY from Towney this afternoon with a fine win over Kilcar in the All-County Football League Division 1.

Kilcar 1-13 St Michael’s 1-16

Michael Langan gave a fine exhibition of free-taking for the Dunfanaghy-based side, who will return to the south-west in the coming weeks in the Michael Murphy Sports & Leisure SFC.

Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 74)

After 10 minutes Kilcar looked to be control with a 0-5 to 0-1 lead already carved out for themselves. Stephen McBrearty, who, like Langan, would score seven in all, registered three times in that opening spell as Conor Doherty and Andrew McClean were also on the mark.

On 13 minutes Ciaran McGinley finished off a flowing move to score the first goal of the game for a 1-5 to 0-2 lead for Martin McHugh’s team.

The St Michael’s response, though, was commendable. Daniel McLaughlin managed to intercept a kick-out from Eamonn McGinley and chip a wonderful goal on 21 minutes.

Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 68)

And by half-time, Kilcar were 1-7 to 1-5 in front.

St Michael’s were much improved in the second half and it was there they laid the foundation for victory – the first away team to win in Towney this season.

Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 38)

Brian McLaughlin, Keelan McGee, Ciaran Gallagher, Daniel McLaughlin and Ryan Langan all played their part in the turnaround as Kilcar lost Kevin Campbell to a second yellow card.

Darragh O’Donnell saw a late effort at goal cleared off the line as Kilcar were denied.

Kilcar: Eamon McGinley; Stephen Shovlin, Conor McShane, Barry Shovlin (0-1); Pauric Carr, Cormac Cannon, Andrew McClean (0-1); Michael Hegarty (0-1), Ciaran McGinley (1-1); Stephen McBrearty (0-7, 5fs, 1’45’), Darragh O’Donnell, Mark Sweeney; Declan Gallagher (0-1), Conor Doherty (0-1), Kevin Campbell. Sub: James Cunningham.

St Michael’s: Ciaran Gallagher; Chris McElhinney (0-1), Michael Gallagher, Oisin Langan; Stephen Doak, Michael McGinley, Daniel McLaughlin (1-1); Michael Langan (0-7, 4fs), Ciaran ‘Rock’ Gallagher (0-1); Liam Paul Ferry, Ciaran Kelly (0-1), Keelan McGee (0-1); Ryan Langan (0-1), Brian McLaughlin (0-3), Andrew Kelly. Subs: Dean McColgan, Ruairi Friel, Jamie Hunter.

Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 45)

Comments are closed.