Free-scoring Kilcar inflict heavy defeat on Ardara


KILCAR RACKED UP ANOTHER big score as they pummeled old foes Ardara by 15 points in Towney this afternoon.

Kilcar 4-16 Ardara 1-10

Ciaran McGinley’s goal after 15 seconds set the tone and Ardara never recovered with further goals by Aodhán McGinley, Matthew McClean and Patrick McBrearty.

Donegal Road Safety ad

A narrow defeat to Gaoth Dobhair has been the only blot on the copybook for Martin McHugh’s (pictured) team, the top scorers in the All-County Football League Division 1.

Seamus Gallagher was the Kilcar manager when they last won the Donegal Senior Football Championship in 1993. He’s now the Ardara manager, but his return to Towney will be one he’ll want to forget rather quickly.

Kilcar started here as they meant to go on. After winning the throw-in, Kilcar powered through and McGinley, who has recently rejoined the Donegal senior football panel, shot to the net past Cathal Gallagher.

Aura Leisure

Matthew McClean, Darragh O’Donnell, Aodhán McGinley and McBrearty posted points before they got a second goal in the 15th minute.

Ryan McHugh’s superb pass fed Aodhán McGinley and he raced in to slot home.

Mark Sweeney, McHugh, two fromMcBrearty and three from McClean had Kilcar eleven ahead, 2-10 to 0-5, at the break.

In the ninth minute of the scond half, Kilcar added a third goal as Matthew McClean – Kilcar’s man of the match – scored from close range.


On 48 minutes, McBrearty’s shot squirmed through the legs of the unfortunate Gallagher and into the net for a fourth major for the hosts, who had eight different players on the scoresheet.

Ardara were well beaten, but three minutes from the end Ryan Malley brilliantly shot to the back of Eamonn McGinley’s net from 20 yards.

Brian McCormick Sports teamwear

Kilcar: Eamonn McGinley; Pauric Carr, Conor McShane, Stephen Shovlin; Barry Shovlin, Andrew McClean (0-1), Mark McHugh (0-1); Ciaran McGinley (1-2), Mark Sweeney (0-2); Aodhán McGinley (1-1), Cormac Cannon, Ryan McHugh (0-1); Matthew McClean (1-4), Darragh O’Donnell (0-1), Patrick McBrearty (1-3). Subs: Dermot McGinley for S.Shovlin (40), Declan Gallagher for C.McGinley (51), Kevin Campbell for R.McHugh (51), James Cunningham for McBrearty (54).

Ardara: Cathal Gallagher; Nicholas Breslin, Declan Gavigan, Kieran Breslin; Johnny Herron, Paddy McGrath. Nicholas Maguire; Brendan McNelis (0-4, 2f), Kevin Herron; Gareth Concarr (0-2), Ryan Malley (1-0), Tomas Boyle (0-3, 1f); Jack Brennan (0-1), C J Molloy, Jimmy O’Connell.

Comments are closed.